Right or Left? Maybe you should just flip a coin!

10 Nov

“Life ain’t always what you thought it ought to be!” We all have plans for our lives…if not plans at least ideas of what we do and do not want. I know I had a plan of the direction I wanted my life to go, but all it took was one life changing event to put a stop to everything. One moment I am heading home from work, and the next I am loading my car of whatever belongings can fit and driving to Colorado. Suddenly all those things that once mattered no longer do and you find yourself in the strangest place…you don’t know anything. The only thing I found to do is trust in God and follow my heart. I don’t know what tomorrow will bring as I once did (or at least thought I did), and I certainly don’t know what a year from now will be like. I’ve lost my mother at a young age, which is something that you think will never happen to you. That is a situation that only happens to other people, but not to you. It’s a surreal feeling! I know she’s up there though re-planning my life for me. The first thing I know she’s going to do is find me a guy. That’s how she was…she just wanted me to find someone and to be happy with them. I mean when you have a mother that gives a guy your name to find you on Facebook you know she’s trying to tell you something. At least I can carry on knowing I have God making sure to give me a fulfilled life and my mother right next to him giving her input. I guess all I can say to you is if your plan is disturbed maybe the direction you were heading was wrong. I’m no expert, but believing in ideas like this is what gets me from one day to the next. You always need to give your life meaning…otherwise it isn’t a life worth living! I love you all and please smile because you can…it’s something I tend to forget lately!

Now to get to what you probably came looking for. My dad is doing great. Still a very stubborn man, but a healthy one. He looks great and is regaining movement in his right arm. Mentally strangers probably wouldn’t think a thing, but to us we do see a few things. Such as his OCD on making our dogs lay down. The poor things can’t even make a move without getting yelled at. At this point it’s just little things that we notice and are thankful that he has recovered to point he’s at!

5 Responses to “Right or Left? Maybe you should just flip a coin!”

  1. Chrisann November 10, 2010 at 6:22 am #

    Tara – you are right. There is a lot of life left to live for all of us. We can trust our Almighty God at every turn – even those that seemingly don’t make much sense! I know that the Lord is going to use your life in amazing ways. I know that in some way your Mom will be thrilled to see you living for Him and making a difference just as she did.

    Glad to hear that Kerry continues to improve. I hope he lets up on the dogs! How fortunate he is to have the 3 of you to help him put his life back together. Wish I could be there Saturday. Love you all so much.

  2. Ann Cunningham November 10, 2010 at 6:47 am #

    Tara, I won’t be able to come to the memorial service but I’m wondering if there is something that we can make memorial gifts to in you Mother’s honor…I would really like to do that. Thank you for all of postings that you have done. I think that you are an incredible young woman 🙂

  3. Mimi Kaszycki November 11, 2010 at 4:42 am #

    Tara,

    Wow! Your mom and dad have raised an amazing daughter! I can not wait to see all of you. We will not make it there this weekend but would like to come a few days between now and Christmas. I will be calling you soon. My thoughts will be with you all day on Saturday.

    Your mom lives on in our hearts and minds. I click on the blog often just to look at your family picture. I love her cute smile and remember her sweet laugh……..

    HAVE I GOT A GUY FOR YOU!! I think your parents would approve!

    Love to you all,
    Mimi

  4. Gloria Bradway November 12, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

    Tara, hearing your heart through what you write reminds me of Jeremiah; wise beyond your years! I know that is because God’s Spirit is alive and working in you. Isn’t it wonderful to be aware of God being really in your daily life! I just caught up with the news that your Father is home. I know that has to be wonderful news, but another level of responsibility. I pray that God with strength you to finish strong. As for your Mother’s desire that you meet someone wonderful; did I mention that my son Jarryd is 21? He is wonderful and has a heart after God’s own heart. 

  5. Stan Bullis November 13, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

    Kerry, Tara, Tyler and Travis,

    As I sat near the back of the church this morning, tearful and so very touched by all of the testimonies, I became so thankful that God, in His wisdom, allowed us all to see Him through Jill. That’s the way He often works – He chooses us to bear witness to His mighty love.

    When I got home, he drew me to a scripture that I beleive I’m to share with you all. When the timing is right I’d like to share it with you.

    Please know you all remain in our prayers,

    Stan

Leave a comment